„Without my mountaineering equipment, I can’t go on vacation.“

Portrait Arne Spieker
(c) ifok GmbH

Arne Spieker

What made you decide to work at ifok?  

I love the variety at ifok: no project is like any other. I am confronted with new challenges every day – for example in our highly political energy system transformation projects. Here we do pioneering work and at the same time develop our tact and sensitivity in tried and tested processes. And let’s not forget our great colleagues.   

How long have you been part of the ifok team and where were you before? 

I started as a Fellow at ifok in 2011. My first professional experience, however, was as a logistics manager in freight forwarding. That wasn’t enough for me! I went back to school, got my leaving certificate and started studying at the University of Hohenheim. After graduating, I worked as a research assistant, investigating the communicative aspects of the arbitration proceedings around Stuttgart 21 – a transportation and urban planning project – this is probably where my love of infrastructure projects developed.    

What sets you apart at the office?   

I like to call myself a generalist. I particularly enjoy working on tricky strategies or tactics. Among my colleagues, I am known for systematically thinking through content and finding the common thread in every tangled knot. I also have a lot of experience as a conflict mediator.  

What do you do in your spare time?    

I am a passionate mountaineer and climber. I never go on holiday without my climbing equipment.  

What do you do particularly sustainably? 

I avoid flying or driving. I travel about 90 percent of my routes by train, bike or on foot.  

Back to top

„Ohne meine Bergsteigerausrüstung geht es für mich in keinen Urlaub.“

Portrait Arne Spieker
(c) ifok GmbH

Arne Spieker

Warum arbeitest du ausgerechnet bei ifok?  

Ich liebe die Abwechslung bei ifok: Kein Projekt ist wie das andere. Ich sehe mich täglich mit neuen Herausforderungen konfrontiert – zum Beispiel in unseren hochpolitischen Energiewende-Projekten. Hier leisten wir Pionierarbeit und schulen gleichzeitig unser Fingerspitzengefühl in erprobten Prozess. Nicht zu vergessen: die großartigen Kolleginnen und Kollegen.   

Seit wann gehörst du zum ifok-Team und wo hat man dich zuvor angetroffen? 

Ich startete 2011 als Fellow bei ifok. Meine ersten beruflichen Erfahrungen machte ich jedoch als Speditionskaufmann. Das reichte mir nicht! Auf dem zweiten Bildungsweg holte ich mein Abi nach und begann ein Studium an der Uni Hohenheim. Nach meinem Abschluss untersuchte ich als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter die kommunikative Perspektive des Schlichtungsverfahrens rund um Stuttgart21 – hier entwickelte sich wohl meine Liebe zu Infrastrukturprojekten.  

Was macht dich im Arbeitsleben aus?  

Ich bezeichne mich gerne als Generalist. Besonders gerne arbeite ich an kniffligen Strategien oder Taktiken. Unter meinen Kolleginnen und Kollegen bin ich dafür bekannt, Inhalte systematisch zu durchdenken und den roten Faden in jedem wirren Knäul zu finden. Ich bin außerdem ein sehr erfahrener Konfliktmoderator.  

Was machst du besonderes in deiner Freizeit?  

Ich bin ein passionierter Bergsteiger und Kletterer. Ohne meine Bergsteigerausrüstung geht es für mich in keinen Urlaub.  

Wobei agierst du besonders nachhaltig? 

Ich vermeide es zu fliegen oder mit dem Auto zu fahren. Etwa 90 Prozent meiner Strecken mache ich mit der Bahn, dem Rad oder zu Fuß.   

Zurüch nach oben