“I often don’t know how the day develops in the morning.”

Portrait Simon Oerding
(c) ifok GmbH

Simon Oerding

What made you decide to work at ifok?  

Because of the people. No doubt about that. Great team, intelligent people with a good sense of humour and no vanity. Our Christmas parties are like a family gathering. I like the fact that every day is new. In the morning, I don’t always know how the day is going to develop. Our projects are very dynamic. New clients call us, or a meeting takes a completely different form than we anticipated. Suddenly everything is turned on its head. That can get on one’s nerves, but I never get bored.   

How long have you been part of the ifok team and where were you before? 

I’ve been on board since 2013. Before that I worked in politics – as office manager of a member of the Bundestag. That was politically extremely exciting and instructive. At ifok, I can act out completely differently and push my own issues more strongly.

What sets you apart at the office? 

I find projects particularly exciting when our participation processes are closely linked to the world of politics. Then you negotiate with mayors, members of parliament and citizens at the same time. That’s challenging, but incredibly instructive and interesting. I often moderate emotionally charged events. I learn a lot about good communication and even more about myself.

What do you do in your spare time that is special?

I’m a passionate skier who sometimes goes from the Ruhr area to the Alps for a weekend. I am also a fan of turtles (in the wild). Unfortunately these two things don’t really go together. I still have to find a solution for that.

In what ways do you act sustainably?

I (almost) never fly. That is a start. Unfortunately, I like skiing. And ski tourism is certainly not particularly sustainable. At the end of the day, I work at ifok: that’s where I’m heading.

What three things can you not do without on your next long train journey? 

I love podcasts. There’s almost nothing that doesn’t interest me in some way. And there are podcasts on really every topic. They are perfect for long train rides. 

Back to top

„Ich weiß morgens oft nicht, wie sich der Tag entwickelt.“

Portrait Simon Oerding
(c) ifok GmbH

Simon Oerding

Warum arbeitest du ausgerechnet bei ifok?  

Ganz klar wegen der Menschen: großartiges Team, intelligente Köpfe, guter Humor und keine Eitelkeiten. Eine Weihnachtsfeier ist bei uns eher ein Familienfest. Mich überzeugt außerdem jeden Tag aufs Neue, dass ich häufig morgens nicht weiß, wie sich der Tag entwickelt. Unsere Projekte sind sehr dynamisch: neue Kundinnen und Kunden rufen an oder ein Meeting nimmt einen völlig unvorhergesehenen Verlauf – auf einmal steht die Welt Kopf. Das zehrt manchmal an den Nerven, aber Langeweile kenne ich nicht.   

Seit wann gehörst du zum ifok-Team und wo hat man dich zuvor angetroffen? 

Seit 2013 bin ich an Bord. Vorher habe ich in der Politik gearbeitet – als Büroleiter eines Bundestagsabgeordneten. Das war politisch extrem spannend und lehrreich. Bei ifok kann ich mich ganz anders ausleben und stärker eigene Themen voranbringen. 

Was macht dich im Arbeitsleben aus?  

Ich finde Projekte dann besonders spannend, wenn sich Politik sehr nah an unseren Beteiligungsverfahren befindet. Dann verhandelt man mit Bürgermeisterinnen und Bürgermeistern, Abgeordneten und Bürgerschaft gleichzeitig. Das ist herausfordernd, aber wahnsinnig lehrreich und interessant. Ich moderiere häufiger emotional aufgeladene Veranstaltungen. Dabei lerne ich viel über gute Kommunikation und noch mehr über mich selbst. 

Was machst du besonderes in deiner Freizeit?  

Ich bin passionierter Skifahrer, der auch mal für ein Wochenende aus dem Ruhrgebiet in die Alpen fährt. Außerdem bin ich Fan von Schildkröten (in freier Wildbahn). Leider passt das nicht gut zusammen, dafür muss ich noch eine Lösung finden.   

Bei was agierst du besonders nachhaltig?  

Ich fliege (fast) nie. Das ist schonmal ein Start. Dummerweise fahre ich gerne Ski. Und besonders nachhaltig ist Skitourismus sicher nicht. Immerhin arbeite ich bei ifok: Da stimmt schonmal die Richtung.  

Welche drei Dinge dürfen auf deiner nächsten längeren Zugfahrt nicht fehlen?  

Ich liebe Podcasts. Es gibt fast nichts, das mich nicht irgendwie interessiert. Und es gibt Podcasts zu wirklich jedem Thema. Die sind für lange Zugfahrten wie gemacht.   

Zurüch nach oben