“Shaping change is as demanding as it is fulfilling.”

Portrait Stefan Denig (c) ifok GmbH

Stefan Denig

What made you decide to work at ifok?  

ifok works on the biggest issues of our time: how can we design the sustainable transportation of the future? How do we make cities smarter and more liveable? How can we transition towards a life free from CO2 emissions? We can only achieve these goals when we bring people on the journey through dialogue, participation, expertise and open and fair debates. Helping to shape this is as challenging as it is fulfilling.

When did you start at ifok and where were you before? 

I have been working in the Berlin office since October 2018. Prior to that, I was in Brussels at the Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy and at EIT Climate KIC, the European climate innovation agency. In the preceding years, I supervised Siemens’ Sustainable Cities Program out of Munich and London.

What sets you apart at the office?

Mediating between a broad spectrum of stakeholders from the public administration, politics, civil society, associations and companies demands flexibility, openness, negotiation skills, patients and sometimes a broad back. I hope that I bring a bit of everything with me.

What three things can’t you live without on your next vacation? 

A good book, good food and interesting conversation partners.

Back to top

„Den Wandel mitzugestalten, ist ebenso fordernd wie erfüllend.“

Portrait Stefan Denig (c) ifok GmbH

Stefan Denig

Warum arbeitest du ausgerechnet bei ifok?  

ifok arbeitet an den großen Themen unserer Zeit: Wie können wir die Mobilität der Zukunft nachhaltig gestalten? Wie machen wir unsere Städte smarter und lebenswerter? Wie schaffen wir die Wende zu einem CO2-freien Leben? Erreichen können wir diese Ziele nur, wenn wir die Menschen mitnehmen: durch Dialog, Partizipation, Expertise, offene und faire Debatten. Dies mitzugestalten, ist jeden Tag eine ebenso fordernde wie erfüllende Aufgabe.  

Seit wann gehörst du zum ifok-Team und wo hat man dich zuvor angetroffen? 

Ich arbeite seit Oktober 2018 im Berliner ifok-Büro. Davor war ich in Brüssel beim Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy und beim EIT Climate KIC, der europäischen Klima-Innovations-Agentur. In den Jahren zuvor habe ich das Sustainable Cities Programm von Siemens aus München und London heraus betreut. 

Was macht dich im Arbeitsleben aus?  

Jeden Tag zwischen einer großen Bandbreite von Stakeholdern aus der Verwaltung, der Politik, der Zivilgesellschaft, Verbänden und Unternehmen zu vermitteln – das erfordert Flexibilität, Offenheit, Verhandlungsgeschick, Geduld und manchmal auch einen breiten Rücken. Ich hoffe, von allem etwas mitzubringen. 

Welche drei Dinge dürfen im nächsten Urlaub nicht fehlen?  

Ein gutes Buch, gutes Essen und interessante Gesprächspartnerinnen und Gesprächspartner. 

Zurüch nach oben